View Issue Details

IDCategoryLast Update
0008579bugs2021-02-18 22:45
ReportersciuriusAssigned To 
Reproducibilityalways 
Status newResolutionopen 
Platformx86_64OSFedoraOS Version33
Product Version6.5 
Fixed in Version 
Summary0008579: Save as of a modified session yields a confusing dialog
DescriptionWhen a session is modified and I select Session > Save As..., a dialog appears with a confusing text.

"Any changes made this time will be lost unless you save it."

It seems to imply that things will go wrong horribly unless I save the session first. Saving will affect the current saved state of the session, and that is what I want to avoid by using Save As... .

Steps To ReproduceCreate a session, modify something, and then Session > Save As...
TagsNo tags attached.

Activities

sciurius

2021-02-17 14:10

reporter  

scrot20210217145924.png (14,620 bytes)
scrot20210217145924.png (14,620 bytes)

x42

2021-02-18 20:40

administrator   ~0025531

>Saving will affect the current saved state of the session, and that is what I want to avoid by using Save As... .

You really want to save a snapshot of the current session, and not save the whole session under a different name in a different place. Save-as does the latter.

https://manual.ardour.org/working-with-sessions/snapshots/

sciurius

2021-02-18 22:45

reporter   ~0025532

In this particular case I want to make a new, distinct copy of the project, under a different name and location, to be used for an other, separate, project. To the best of my knowledge that is what "Save As..." is for.
Also, for all applications that I know "Save As..." will save the *current* state, even if modified, to the new destination.

In either case, the "unsaved session" dialog is confusing.

Issue History

Date Modified Username Field Change
2021-02-17 14:10 sciurius New Issue
2021-02-17 14:10 sciurius File Added: scrot20210217145924.png
2021-02-18 20:40 x42 Note Added: 0025531
2021-02-18 22:45 sciurius Note Added: 0025532